Thai Iced Tea Cupcakes with Condensed Milk Buttercream

(Edited after loved tasting feedback from loved ones)

Hello there! Let me begin my post with a little story…

So my boyfriend and I have recently fallen in love with Thai Iced Tea ice cream. Every time we take our first, second and third bite we would look at each other and nod in contentment. Hence, I decided to try a recipe of Thai Iced Tea cupcakes! All the recipes I researched on called for the actual tea leaves, which you can’t find in just any grocery store and I would therefore need to make a trip down to Golden Mile where I believe you can find all things Thai in Singapore. But of course I have been too lazy… and for months I never made it down. As luck would have it, one morning I randomly opened up the pantry cupboard and to my surprise saw a packet of Thai tea leaves sitting there. My younger sister who had just returned from Thailand bought a packet! (without knowing that I had this make cupcakes plan) So whoop!

I followed the recipe from here and halved everything as I only wanted 12 cupcakes and not 24. Now, condensed milk buttercream put me off from the beginning. Because for one I really do not like buttercream because fat, and two, my mother is against condensed milk because well, fat. But after reading reviews and the blog post it seemed like it would bring out the taste of the cake even more so I decided to throw all caution to the kitchen aid.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

If you’re not a complete triple sweet tooth, I suggest you stay away from this buttercream. It was way to sweet for me. That cake though…was a gem. Love love it.

EDIT 

Boyfriend: The frosting goes really well with the cake.

Sister: The frosting goes really well with the cake.

So maybe I was wrong after all!

Brewing the tea

Brewing the tea

Fresh out of the oven

Fresh out of the oven

Wrecking my brain for an alternate frosting to compliment these cupcakes, i’m thinking just a classic cream cheese would do. Please share if you have any ideas!

xx

Leave a Reply

